What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Feminized vs. "Normal"

Tri_Cho_Me

I don't know if this thread already exists, I'm sure it does, but the search engine on here isn't all that friendly. If so, feel free to point me in that direction :friends:

Is there a benefit to growing "Normal" seeds as opposed to Feminized? I am growing Feminized since I'm a noob and it seemed like the easy thing to do for a noob (K.I.S.S.).

It seems like a waste of time, energy, water, soil, light, grow space, etc. to eventually throw out half your plants (or whatever number).

I'm sure there is a benefit since people do it, just haven't figured out what that is yet :smoke out:

Thanks for pointing me in the correct direction or filling me in on this information!

Tri_Cho_Me

RockinRobot

The biggest issue with feminized seeds is many unscrupulous breeders sell seeds from plants that hermied on their own as opposed to having been treated with something to force it. These seeds tend to pass on the hermie properties.

Have also heard it said that you have better chance of getting different phenos with regular seeds as opposed to fem but no hard data on that that I'm aware of.

Phaeton

Speed of Dark
Veteran
When beginning the garden in the 1990's regular seeds were used to find an exceptional plant and the plant was then cloned until a better plant came along. Four years is the record for keeping a single strain as the main producer.

The reason was separating out the male plants. This more than doubled the labor involved.
With the advent of quality feminised seeds I made the change over last year.