What's new

The Seed Pickin Thread

thejact55

Hello all.

In the spirit of currently harvesting many plants for seeds, I feel inclined to start a discussion/learning platform on harvesting seeds. There is some info, a lot really, but not one that I can recall just dedicated to this subject. I am no pro, but with about 800 seeds picked this run so far, and estimating many many thousands over the last few years I've been in to this aspect of growing, I'm not a newbie also. These are my methods, I'm sure they are not the best or most efficient, but that is fine. I would love to hear some input, as I have a lot to learn also.

When to pollinate? I find its best to separate the males and females before the pollen flys. Males tend to mature flower wise faster than females. If you want a good amount of seeds, separate and let the females flower for a few weeks unbothered. Let a lot of pistils be present, and maybe a little resin.

-We can all agree, over-pollination is super crappy...and easy to do. Not a lot worse than seeing a mass of non-viable white seeds bulging from the bud. I pollinate by shaking the male over the female, then separating again, and waiting a day or two. I look at the pistils, if they are starting to wilt and turn brown, your good. if not, give the male another shake, and wait again. Pollen is powerful, a little can go a long ways. I would rather have less healthy seeds, than over pollinate.