What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

The quest for shattery shatter

Hey guys,
Haven't posted on here in a loonngg time but I thought I would see if I could get advice. Side note, this website is like praying for me, only done when your in the shit haha.

So I have been processing BHO on and off in a closed loop system for the last 2 years. The system in a standard 5 lb unit from bhogart with upgraded ball valve and butane recovery pump. I am not wild about the system but it's what iv got and I don't have funds at the moment for a new one. I also purge all oil in a AI 1.9 vac oven.

In the beginning I was only running old outdoor material so producing product that was darker and "pull n snap" consistency was not surprising to me. But recently I have had the opportunity to run some stellar indoor trim that was fairly fresh. Although the color came out good I still cannot get past the "pull n snap" consistency for the life of me and that is what my patients prefer. I know it is highly strain dependent but after running 3 strains with similar results I am getting discouraged.

Is there anything I could be doing to get to that stable glass I'm looking for? I know I could secondary dewax but without a cold trap I just end up burning out my pumps with the Buchner. Would a dedicated inline dewax column help? Temps? Haha anything?!

I appreciate the advice in advance guys!

Gtir

I was wondering the same thing. Especially when I use propane the extract comes out very sticky.

Propane tends to make things "hard" but more like leathery than glass.