What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Anyone else growing giant pumpkins?

shack

Well, I'm no expert but love to try and grow a big one.
I've been at it about 5 years now.The last two years turned out to be disappointing as I had the soil(ph) all messed up.
Started with 10 plants this year,and I'm down to three,due to disease and other problems.
Hoping for a 1000 pounder.
picture.php

picture.php

buddah

Life is one big grow........
Veteran
Hey bro,

look nice!! Have been interested in growing a big one, too!!
but i am realy not an expert!! Do u let grow more as 1 one each plant!!!
i red this is one point of succes

shack

Hey budda, yes one pumpkin per plant,and it should be on the main vine.
and for a really big one it should be at least 12 to 15 feet from the root system.The thinking being,the more plant behind the pumpkin,the more there is to feed it.
My biggest pumpkin to date is a little over 500 lbs. That is actually small my giant pumpkin standards.
The world record being 1,687 lbs.
If your series about growing a big one,I'd recommend getting Don Langevin's books,How to Grow World Class Pumpkins I,II,III.,lots of good info there.
I'll help you where I can Bro,any questions I can answer I will.

Moldy Dreads

Veteran
I really hope you succeed, those plants remind me of growing up as a kid near more rural areas..

How to Grow World Class Pumpkins I,II,III.,l
and holy crap, how many books do you need to learn how to grow a big pumpkin?

Hazy Lady

Prom Night Dumpster Baby
ICMag Donor
Veteran
Great stuff Shack, i hope you get your 1000lb'r, do you grow Comfrey to make tea for them?.