What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

solvents to use for cannabis oil?

Jfs

I am interested in knowing which are the best solvents to use when making rso oil. I have Myeloma and would prefer not have an oil as clean as possible. I was thinking of some kind of alcohol, but am open to other ideas. I need something that can be made safely in home.

Thanks

Phagoos

I would try rosin tech and optionally use some alcohol or vegetable oil to thin it afterward.
Then it will be completely solvent-less.

Jfs

Thanks for the link. I am new to extraction and have nopt heard of this method. Do you have any other links?

I was planning on making Rick Simpson Oil extracted with alcohol or some other solvent. How would Rosin compare? I have cancer so am looking for the best product as far as medicine.

Thanks

Phagoos

This is the main thread that got me interested: New extraction technique? Rosin tech?
I have no experience with Rosin or oil myself. I mainly got interested because a relative of mine is using a diluted oil for pain relief.
The possibility of creating a solventless extract to create a diluted oil is very appealing in my opinion

I'll have to leave it to other people to tell you what the best method is. With cancer it is an entire different ball game I'm afraid.

jswick93

Rick simpson recommended using naptha, because it makes a more potent extract, but there is debate over using a harsher solvent to extract medicine. Potent extracts can also be made with butane, and can contain no residual solvent. Using 190 proof grain alcohol is the simplest method I think and will give you a safe medicine.

Miraculous Meds