What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

pH Control of Organic Soil - not to be sniffed at

OrganicLuv

Dear friends,

I am a newbie here and have been growing for couple years now.
Luckily I had some really awesome runs and friends admired my weed, but at the moment its hard to reproduce that quality.

Since I moved to another flat I have some problems obviously related to the pH of the tap water.
In the area I live the tap water has high bicarbonate concentration and we officially have "hard water".

When I start with seeds, everything goes fine for the first 6-7 weeks (organic soil).
But then the growth stagnates somehow.
I measured the drainage from soil which i used for couple months and the pH was over 8.
at the beginning its something under 7.
I dont give no fertilizers (chemical) und just water the soil with tap water.
Had different runs with different soils. But always the same problems.

Of course I know that organic soil buffers the pH really good but every soil has a limited buffering ability.
So I read a little about soil sience.
Roots produce acids themselves depending on which ions are set in the soil. If anyone's interested i can try to go further a bit.
However, if you steadily use water with low bicarbonate the soil will tend to get more sour. If you use high bicarbonate water, the soil will get alkaline.
If you have a certain concentration of bicarbonate in the water, the soil is able to keep a constant pH for a long time. I guess that might be the right way?

pH can also be influenced by feeding the plant with nitrogen in the water.
Also the pH buffering depends on the EC.