What's new

Are you a better person because of marijuana?

bongoman

Joan Bello wrote the foreword in Cannabible 2, claiming that cannabis can make you a better person.

I agree with this sentiment but also believe that not every toker is necessarily a better person 'cause of pot. Some of us get stuck in habitual use, and it can deaden our spirits if used excessively.

I've been smoking on and off for 20 years - sometimes I haven't smoked for a couple of years in that period, othertimes regularly for long periods. Especially in my 20's travelling through India, Pakistan, Thailand, Cambodia - those were the days! LOL.

So cannabis comes and goes in my life.

At present, it is something I'm enjoying regularly again after a small personal grow.

For me, with 2 young kids and the demands that that involves, I find cannabis to be an amazing de-stresser - it snaps me out of any negative, frustrated, stressed feelings and I become a reasonable person, and one that is far nicer to be around.

I relate to my young kids better and see though the crap that can fill your head when you are too busy. It gets me back in touch with myself, my body and my breath and I feel more human. it reminds me that life is happening right now and not to miss the small details.

Pot for me is not about getting out of it. I have no medical use for it but just find it to be this amazing, special herb that literally makes me a better person.

The trick I suppose is to take some of the lessons of marijuana and use them in daily life, not just rely on getting high to be a better person, but rather letting pot teach what inner attitude one should maintain - a mindful, aware state in which negative emotions and feelings don't take over your head.

Are you a better person because marijuana plays a part in your life?

Holdin'

Moon-grass farmer
Veteran