What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Introduction and questions

organik40

Hi all, i have been growing my own outdoor flowers for 15 years now. Not much, about 3 lbs, for me and a few friends. I vaporize flowers daily.

I am looking for a new project and thought I would give hash a go.

I made some Quick wash ethanol extracts a few years ago, but reclaiming the ethanol (super expensive to allow it to evaporate) is too much hassle and the whole process is too much work. I do have a day job :) It was fun and educational and the product was potent. Just too time consuming for what I got back.

Anyhow, I am thinking to order a Pollinator 150 gram machine and do frozen dry sift in the deep freezer.

I have this years harvest dried, cured, and vacuum sealed at 62% Rh in cool and dark place.
Do you recommend drying it more aggressively before freezing it for processing into hash?

After I get the skuff/kief scraped up and stored, do you recommend further curing of it before pressing into hash?

I have an old RCBS reloading press for ammo that I am thinking to refurbish into a hash press. How much heat and for how long to make a good product?

I am thinking to make a hash form from cut iron tubing and flat iron disks that insert inside. Shooting for a 3 gram disk of stable and strong product that can be stored for extended periods or sold easily.

I am reading and searching through threads here looking for advice, hard to sift through all the chit chat and get to the technical information I am craving.

Thanks for the input, let me know if I am missing some critical and obvious step and/or logic in this process.

EsterEssence

Veteran