What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Design for 11x11 & 13.5 x 12 flower rooms (help a newb out)

Loki Hiki

Hey there. I've got 2 new flower rooms to design and I'm pretty new to this whole thing. I'm looking for some advice from you seasoned pros -- any advice/info you could impart would be much appreciated!

Here's what I'm thinking so far:

11x11

--6 lights in checkerboard pattern alternating 630w CMH + 1000w HPS

--24 plants (4 plants per light) in 3g Coco/Perlite pots on the floor set up across 10x10 or 9x9 area

13.5 x 12

-- 9 lights in checkerboard pattern alternating 630w CMH + 1000w HPS

-- 36 plants (4 plants per light) in 3g Coco pots on the floor set up across 12x12 area

A couple questions I have:

1) Are we overkilling it on the lighting? Our ceilings are 9 feet high and I want to get as much light in there as possible.

2) Are we going to be much better off with 4x8 trays vs. running these girls on the floor? If we run on the floor, do we need a longer veg time?

3) What kind of A/C do we need to run? We're in Los Angeles and it gets hot (100+) during summer where we live. We're currently thinking 24,000 btu for the smaller room (3x 630w CMH + 3x 1000w HPS) and 2x separate 24000 btu units on opposite sides of the room for the larger room with 9 lights (5x 630w CMH + 4x 1000w HPS).

4) For CO2, we should be good with 20 lb tanks right? Any suggestions on best controller for managing CO2 in this kind of set up?

5) For reservoirs, our friend suggested that we get 55 gallon drums and put a pump in each one that we can connect our handwatering hose to. If that's the case, is 1x 55g drum per room sufficient?