What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

WHATS UP WITH FOXTAILING

NUGneighbor

IVE NOTICED WHEN I LOOK AT PICTURES OF BUDS ON FORUMS AND EVEN THE PICTURES THAT SEED BANKS POST FOR THEIR SEEDS. THAT ALMOST ALL HAVE FOXTAILING. BUT THE REASON I AM ASKING THIS IS . ALMOST EVERY STRAIN I GROW STARTS FOXTAILING RIGHT AT 4 WEEKS FLOWERING ( ALMOST TO THE DAY). I HAVE GONE TROUGH FORUM AFTER FORUM AND REALLY FOUND NO ANSWER. I HAVE BEEN GROWING FOR A FEW DECADES AND I HAVE HAD EVERYTHING DAILED IN FOR I LONG TIME. SO I REALLY DONT WANT TO HERE ABOUT HEAT AND ALL THAT OTHER BS. IN THE LAST 4 OR 5 YEARS IT IS REALLY GETTING OUT OF HAND. IS IT REALLY GENETICS ?
SORRY IF THIS HAS BEEN ANSWERED BEFORE. BUT I COULD NOT FIND A ANSWER.....................................................................

STAY HIGH...TO FLY RIGHT......................................................:

CosmicGiggle

Veteran
Back in the day, foxtailing was normal.

I believe it was commercial concerns and the turn towards 'rock hard nugs' that drove foxtailing to be seen as undesirable.

I've always liked it myself!:tiphat:

Phaeton

Speed of Dark
Veteran
I play with lights just for fun sometimes. At one end of the bud room is a 600 watt 10K color temp in a triangle with a pair of 400 watt 4K color CMH's.
Plants at this end foxtail more than the plants under a pair of 400 watt Black Dogs and three each 230 watt Dwarf Stars. The biggest difference is the infrared output.
Out of curiosity I put 150 watts of 850 nm near infrared on for two hours every morning and night and the foxtails increased.