What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

WHAT IS THIS?

Snook

Still Learning
Veteran
I been carrying this thing around for 20+ years since my father in law died.
Have asked many what they thought it was/is, no answers. So here I am, asking the most diverse thinkers I know. WTF is this thing?
It is 30.5" long and weighs 9-10lbs. I'm not good at identifying wood but my guess is it is made from walnut. The Qtip looking ends are pressed onto the shaft. My guess is it was used on a loom of some sort carrying yarn or sumtin like that.. maybe hemp?:biggrin:

Anyone know?

EDIT: if you came here via my sig link, she made you look..
156f8630.gif

Attachments

• Wood Qtip 005.jpg
    Wood Qtip 005.jpg
    88 KB · Views: 15
  • Wood Qtip 003.jpg
    Wood Qtip 003.jpg
    95 KB · Views: 19
  • Wood Qtip 001.jpg
    Wood Qtip 001.jpg
    116 KB · Views: 12
  • Wood Qtip 006.jpg
    Wood Qtip 006.jpg
    73.8 KB · Views: 14

WelderDan

Veteran
I've seen one of those, but damned if I can remember when, or what it was for. Let me thunk on it.

WelderDan

Veteran
After looking at a bunch of Google images, I think MJP hit it. It's a pestle. I found several with symmetrical ends

Gypsy Nirvana

Recalcitrant Reprobate -
Administrator
Veteran
Hmmm, a pestle.

I have only ever seen them made of harder materials like metal or stone. But that wood looks pretty hard, so maybe?

Snook

Still Learning
Veteran
pestle for grains maybe.. I agree about the harder materials though.
The ends are smooth like it rode in a cradle of some sort..

Snook

Still Learning
Veteran