What's new
  • Please note members who been with us for more than 10 years have been upgraded to "Veteran" status and will receive exclusive benefits. If you wish to find out more about this or support IcMag and get same benefits, check this thread here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

LF Advice on First Indoor Grow

BlackMagic66

Heya Folks, not sure if it would be better to post this in new growers or here, but since I have some experience outdoors from decades ago, I figured this would be ok even for a site-noob..:D

The grow I am preparing for is going to be a 1-2 person medical grow, limited to 6 flowering 6 veg. I will be using LEDs and either D2W or recycling smart pots with coco.

My primary focus right now is designing the grow room in a garage space located in a state with high temp, high humidity summers, and the potential of below freezing winters.
My plan is to section off an 8x8 corner of the garage and put up a makeshift frame covered with R13 insulated panels and insulated sub-floor. Then I can put a flower tent and a small veg tent up inside as well as my reservoir, an oil heater if needed, etc...

My plan for exhaust is to run 6 inch insulated ducting 15-20 feet to a goose-neck roof cap. Intake will be pulled from inside the house after about a 30-35 foot run to a spare beedroom. This way I can be putting 70-something degree air into the room rather than pulling from a possibly freezing garage.

The fans I am considering are the Vortex 6-inch S-line.

I know almost everyone swears by only using passive intake, but do yall think my setup seems workable?

I will need to use manual fan speed controllers on each fan and then just leave them at that speed 24/7 correct? Using a day/night fan-speed temperature controller with both active intake and exhaust is pretty much a pain, right?