Register ICMag Forum Menu Features Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
You are viewing our:
in:
Forums > Marijuana Growing > Cannabis Growing Questions > Blumat auto watering

Thread Title Search
Post Reply
Blumat auto watering Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-31-2011, 01:39 AM #1001
dubdi3mond
Guest

Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmdalefurr View Post
none of you guys run any nutes? im running H&G
im running hg full line up through mine, almost 3 months so far no problems what so ever.. i would recommend making a loop with the larger black hose and adding a shut off valve to the loop so that you can purge your lines about once a week
Quote


Old 01-31-2011, 03:32 AM #1002
mrktwiz
Banned

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 598
mrktwiz has a spectacular aura aboutmrktwiz has a spectacular aura aboutmrktwiz has a spectacular aura aboutmrktwiz has a spectacular aura aboutmrktwiz has a spectacular aura about
Help with my Blumat design

All;

If this has been discussed already, please accept my humble apologies but I don't have them time to read through every page on this thread.

I have a 2K stadium grow going on and we are going to increase the # of plants from about 33 to around 45-50. I have a 33 gallon reservoir (garbage can cuz that's how I roll....cheap ...lol) I want to get a 55 gal container AND upgrade to Blumat's because they sound perfect as my drip system sometimes OVER waters and under waters my SmartPots and I'm hoping to get more uniformity with Blumats;



BUT with Blumat's do you HAVE to use a gravity feed (meaning I have to somehow suspend a 55 gallon res as close to the ceiling (7.5" ft height) as possible. Since in my Stadium grow I will have 3 shelves going up to almost 5.5 to 6'! So it leave me little room near the ceiling to place some kind of reservoir for gravity feeding to all the plants below(?) Possibly I can use a pump of some sort like the one I am using for my drip system currently? I was also thinking of using this type of res (Botanicare 44 gal) to get it closer to the ceiling or am I just all fucked up lol;


Any advise would be great appreciated. I hope everyone understands what I'm trying to do here, if not I will try and clarify.

mrktwiz is offline Quote


Old 01-31-2011, 03:45 AM #1003
WasntMe
Saw me bang'n on the sofa...

WasntMe's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 906
WasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really nice
Two options I can think of:

1. you could use a gravity fed Res (res A - 10 gal) high up by the ceiling with a float valve trigger to pump from a larger Res (res B - 55 gal) on the floor.

2. Or you could do the same as above but instead of a float valve trigger... just pump constantly and have an overflow drain line from Res A back to Res B

Res A goes to Blumants and Res B can be where you fert mix.
__________________
.

I'm just a figment of my own imagination. It's best to just ignore me.


It Wasn't Me
WasntMe is offline Quote


2 members found this post helpful.
Old 01-31-2011, 04:26 AM #1004
mrktwiz
Banned

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 598
mrktwiz has a spectacular aura aboutmrktwiz has a spectacular aura aboutmrktwiz has a spectacular aura aboutmrktwiz has a spectacular aura aboutmrktwiz has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by WasntMe View Post
Two options I can think of:

1. you could use a gravity fed Res (res A - 10 gal) high up by the ceiling with a float valve trigger to pump from a larger Res (res B - 55 gal) on the floor.

2. Or you could do the same as above but instead of a float valve trigger... just pump constantly and have an overflow drain line from Res A back to Res B

Res A goes to Blumants and Res B can be where you fert mix.

(Hugsz Wasn't me)

THIS is why I love this site ..I KNEW someone would have a good suggestion. THANK YOU Wasn't me... ur a freakin genius!
mrktwiz is offline Quote


Old 01-31-2011, 04:47 AM #1005
dunkydunk
Member

dunkydunk's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 376
dunkydunk will become famous soon enoughdunkydunk will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by inreplyavalon View Post
So i want to tie in another 55 gallon line into my blumat system without just making one large 110 gallon res. I want them to both run seperately into the system. My system is already up and running and i am wondering if it will be ok to add this while the lines are filled with water. Basically cut the 8mm line and jam in a T connector, then connect new res. Does this seem like it may work? Any tips on keeping air out of the lines?
I want to do this for two reasons. One i am going on vacation for two weeks, and lastly because i think the redundancy of the design is pretty awesome. What ya'll think?
It will work, but technically the two barrels won't run into the system independent of one another, they'll run in concurrently. In fact, they'll equalize in volume through the trunk line. You don't even have to hook the second barrel into the blumats, you could just as well hook it up to the other barrel. I'm not saying hooking the two barrels together would be easier, I only offer the idea as a way to conceptualize the system.

As for air bubbles, I see people like to run their trunk lines in a loop, but I just put a valve at the end of the line and bleed straight through when needed.
dunkydunk is offline Quote


Old 01-31-2011, 05:30 AM #1006
WasntMe
Saw me bang'n on the sofa...

WasntMe's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 906
WasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really niceWasntMe is just really nice
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrktwiz View Post
(Hugsz Wasn't me)

THIS is why I love this site ..I KNEW someone would have a good suggestion. THANK YOU Wasn't me... ur a freakin genius!
You're welcome. Glad I was able to think of something that you think you can effectively apply to your situation.

good luck.
-WasntMe
__________________
.

I'm just a figment of my own imagination. It's best to just ignore me.


It Wasn't Me
WasntMe is offline Quote


Old 02-02-2011, 04:08 AM #1007
BorkBorkBork
Bork bork bork, plucky der chicken, bork bork!

BorkBorkBork's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hey der, dats not der chicken bork!
Posts: 478
BorkBorkBork has a spectacular aura aboutBorkBorkBork has a spectacular aura aboutBorkBorkBork has a spectacular aura aboutBorkBorkBork has a spectacular aura about
Quote:
Originally Posted by WasntMe View Post
I do NOT have these fittings nor have I tried to use them but by looking at the site:

hope this is at least partially helpfull
-WasntMe
Thanks WM, it was (partially) helpful The problem, or one of them at least, is that I'm a hands on guy, and from looking at that, even knowing what you've told me, I'm still pretty lost on what pieces I actually need, I just can't picture it in my head.

Don't sweat it though, I'm sourcing stuff locally.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dansbuds View Post
these guys will have any fitting ya need dude ..... its where i get all my stuff including buckets & stuff ......
https://www.usplastic.com/catalog/def...arentcatid=690
Thanks for the link, same problem as above though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WasntMe View Post
Hey Chef BorkBorkBork,

Where's my cookie?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dunkydunk View Post
I used a simple 3/8" quick connect valve from home depot. The 8mm line fits snugly inside of 3/8 line, and that fits in the valve/quick connect. Works like a charm, no leaks, no slipping, no worries.
Going with this solution, and I think I know what I need now. Thanks dunky.

I'll post some pics when I make this happen. I find myself often (at least once per cycle) needing to unhook the whole flowering side (2 connectors total) and the tubing is getting shorter and shorter because I have to keep cutting it to get it disconnected. :(

I used to have a real good hang of getting stuff disconnected without causing any damage, but I must have lost the touch, so now I just make a slice with a razor on the tubing over the connector to get it off, then I cut the damaged end off.
BorkBorkBork is offline Quote


Old 02-03-2011, 05:58 AM #1008
BorkBorkBork
Bork bork bork, plucky der chicken, bork bork!

BorkBorkBork's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hey der, dats not der chicken bork!
Posts: 478
BorkBorkBork has a spectacular aura aboutBorkBorkBork has a spectacular aura aboutBorkBorkBork has a spectacular aura aboutBorkBorkBork has a spectacular aura about
Blumat Quick Disconnect

Here it is (thanks to dunkydunk for pointing me in the right direction at the hardware store), the Ghetto Fab Blumat Feed Line Lowes Sourced Quick Disconnect System Extraordinarie (GFBFLSQDSE for short)

Everything you need



You can find the quick disconnect and flexible tubing by the pvc stuff at the hardware store. It was $3 and change for the QD, and $3 for the hose (enough hose to do a billion of 'em). Black tubing is probably preferable, but with a little experimentation you can find the right length that there won't be a gap.

Snip a little piece of tubing, and jam the end of the feed line into the clear tubing like so.



The clear tubing fits into the quick disconnect like so.




Ta-da!
BorkBorkBork is offline Quote


3 members found this post helpful.
Old 02-03-2011, 07:19 AM #1009
dunkydunk
Member

dunkydunk's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 376
dunkydunk will become famous soon enoughdunkydunk will become famous soon enough
That's the ticket. Now you can get the same disconnect with a valve in it, and you have that handy option as well.

I'm still waiting for my 3/8" od black vinyl tubing to show up in the mail. I'm betting you can ditch the 8 mm line all together and just use that.
dunkydunk is offline Quote


Old 02-03-2011, 07:25 AM #1010
whodare
Banned

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: a home near you
Posts: 1,542
whodare is a glorious beacon of lightwhodare is a glorious beacon of lightwhodare is a glorious beacon of lightwhodare is a glorious beacon of lightwhodare is a glorious beacon of lightwhodare is a glorious beacon of lightwhodare is a glorious beacon of lightwhodare is a glorious beacon of lightwhodare is a glorious beacon of lightwhodare is a glorious beacon of lightwhodare is a glorious beacon of light
you could also use the 3/8 hose as your main line and piece the 8mm in where needed.

this really applies to people who bought the patio kit and dont want the trouble of ordering more 8mm hose for long runs. gives individual plants more mobility also.
whodare is offline Quote


Post Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:20 PM.




This site is for educational and entertainment purposes only.
You must be of legal age to view ICmag and participate here.
All postings are the responsibility of their authors.
Powered by: vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.