What's new

The Water Cure

mpd

Lammen Gorthaur
Veteran
Peace be unto all who read this post.

There seems to be a lot of confusion and/or inaccurate information revolving around water cures and what is to be done. While every member recognizes the fact that I am a stupid ass newbie (you know what they say - those that can't, teach!), I will nonetheless go thru the steps I am using and you can use for creating excellent tasting meds free of chlorophyll and other nasty little ingredients you can do without.

The logic behind the water cure is very alluring:

1. It is fast compared to air curing methods. To do an air cure properly, you hang dry for 7 days and then into the jars for the burping festival for up to 60 days before consumption begins. Water curing completes the same process in 7 to 10 days. So you save time.

2. Water curing is stealthy. The plants are totally submerged, so they aren't making a terrible stink. This is an issue I am dealing with on my harvest right now.

3. Product preservation is superior. In an air cure, a certain amount of THC may be lost in the drying and curing process. The plant's resin is not soluable in water (as we have all know from tryingto wash our stinky pinkies), so the THC isn't lost - it increases as a percentage of total weight.

4. Bag appeal may be improved. The removal of the chloropyhll and nasty assed terpines leaves you with a nuetral color that may serve to increase a given strain's bag appeal.

There may be more advantages, but I'll leave it at that for the time being. The water cure may be used in TWO DIFFERENT ways. They are:

A. Fix a bag. If the product you are holding is crisped or otherwsie excessively dry, or it tastes too grassy, then you do a water cure for three (3) hours to get things where you want them. Doesn't work magic, but does make improvements. Place the buds in a mason jar and cover with warm water for three (3) hours. Place you buds on screens to dry. Once it's dry then you are back in biz.