What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

How wet should your coco be?

R

riverrat7

Hey all. I've been growing using coco for around 9 months and reckon its the best medium i've used. Bigger chunkier buds over soil etc.

A friend of mine has just started growing using coco and has been reading the forums here. He's been winding me up, telling me that I'm not keeping my plants wet enough because the top inch or so of my 75liter pots are dry. I can tell by the weight of them that there is plenty of water in them and after giving them a good watering with around 10-15% runnoff they take over two weeks, even three to completely dry out or feel lighter. I don't see any advantage of pummeling them with more water when imao they have plenty and will perform better slightly drier but not dry! :bashhead: I even heard somewhere that Canna recomends that you let the substrate dry a little before rewatering for best results.

Btw my plants are in 75 liter pots and are 2 foot, still in veg.

Please give me your educated opinion

cheers RR

R

riverrat7

I'll also add by saying there are threads on this forum that state that you cant overwater coco. Imo this is just misinformation.

If I was to keep topping up my 75 liter pots with water the bottom of them would be complete mush and it would only inhibit the growth and root production.

I agree that It's just about impossible to overwater smaller pots with bigger plants but wack a small plant in a big pot and its quite easy.

RR

G

Greyskull

Dude 75 liter is a big ass container dude! Wow. Thats a grip of coco...