What's new

growroom design help needed

haitran412

this is my first time setting up a real grow room 8x8x10, and advise is much needed.
im gonna use..
4 1000 watt with air cooled reflector
multiflow ebb & flow hydro system with 3 1/2 gallon buckets with 55 gallon drums
i want go with the can carbon filter for the odor, but dont know which size or is there something better? Is a water chiller necessery? AC is a must what btu? co2 with Air-3 Atmospheric Controller with photosensor operates exhaust and intake fans, i know that Co2 shouldnt be on while the room is getting vented, when venting how many times a day or how many minutes per hour should i vent or should i even vent, and is it okay to have the intake fan going at the same time? I am trying to find out when to vent and have intake air coming in the room and when to release C02, i want to acheive the perfect growing enviroment. Any input or suggestion would be greatful. thank you

MTF-Sandman

OG Refugee
Veteran
Personally I like sealed rooms for CO2. It's a lot more stable environment if you get the correct equipment.

Depending on your climate, you could get away with a 12-15Kbtu AC if you're in a cooler area but if the temps get too hot around your area you'll probably need an 18-21Kbtu AC. That should give you enough extra cooling so that you don't have to fight to keep the temps in check in mid summer. I would setup the lights on a dedicated intake/exhaust and just let the fan(s) cooling the hoods run while the lights are on to help keep the temps down.

For a sealed setup odor control is also much easier to take care of. A small scrubber/fan recirculating the room air or a puck style odor killer should work fine.

In a sealed room the CO2 controller will also make sure that the PPMs stay in the optimal range during lights on...and disable CO2 while the lights are off.

You will need a dehumidifier most likely tho...especially for after the lights turn off and the AC stops running...

haitran412