What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Post your germination technique

MossMan

Even after 3 years of growing I still sometimes dont get perfect germination and I usually lose a few right when I move them to go under the light for the first time.I germinate using the paper towel method and when they bust i put them in either perl/verm. or perl/verm/castings and under a humidty dome.Then I wait for them to pop out then put them under the lights.Does all this sound ok?Any advice is greatly appreciated.

420Joe

Im far from a pro_One thing i can do right is germinate.All i do is get a plate and bowl from the same set,wet papper towel or poo paper.U can germinate hunderds like this.Put them on the plate wet paper over top and the bowl over that.Put them somewere dark and not cold or to warm.3 to 6 days later they will have all busted open if there were ripe.I use 50-50 soil and prelite.Never lost one yet once there in the soil.I think your tryin to hard.U dont need the dome.If u use the dome u are makin the plant drink from the leaf and u want it to devlope roots.No need to devlope roots if it can get it some were else.Castings i use after the first transplant but only a bit.Good luck.

420Joe

Was just thinking.How far to u put the seeds down in your pots?When it becomes like the 4th day and i dont see it yet,i dig down to see if it has started.Never lost one seed after its been planted.

Chronage

Scholastic Warrior