What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

HARD AND SOFT WATER?

BENJI

Between the Devil and the deep blue sea...
ICMag Donor
Veteran
hi everyone can someone please explain to me what hard and soft water is and how i can tell the difference also which one is better to feed to my babies sorry but im a noob to hard and soft water never heard these terms used before..

Last edited:
T

toodles

BENJI said:
hi everyone can someone please explain to me what hard and soft water is and how i can tell the difference also which one is better to feed to my babies sorry but im a noob to hard and soft water never heard these terms used before..

Hard water has varying amounts of minerals dissolved in it. Here where I am it is mostly Calcium and Magnesium, with some Iron. PPM is about 90. pH is ~7.3

A water "softener" takes your city water or well water and essentially substitutes Sodium ions(Na+) for the Calcium, Magnesium, etc. ions and thus "softening" it.

I seriously doubt you have soft water unless you live near a place where sodium/salt water has got into the water table.... Or.... If you have a water softener in your house then, of course, you have soft water....

ANYWAY...if you do have soft water, don't use it. Sodium is bad news for plants. You'll have to find another source for your water.

I think I'm lucky. The Ca and Mg in my slightly hard water is good for my plants....IMO. I don't do anything but bubble my water, add nutes, LK, whatever and pour it on my plants.

Toodles :rasta:

PS

One way to tell