What's new

How do you maintain the vigor of an IBL?

Q

qanabose

Just wondering if its possible to implement some sort of selection process to maintain the vigor and strength of an IBL without the introduction of new bloodlines? And if there is such a method, could it be applied to landrace strains as well as hybrids?

G

Self it, grow and bloom the beans. Seed vigor is generally 25% higher.

ethereal

Warrior
Veteran
ibl as in original haze? maui wowie? cripple creek? kona gold?

or ibl as in rez's sour diesel 'ibl' ?

if the prior (real definition of an ibl), then you want to grow from clone as much as possible, and just make some backup f2 stock every few years if you dont have a solid way of keeping seeds fresh nailed down yet. i have seeds ive been saving for ten years that have 100% germination rate (or close to it) so its not even something to worry about more then once a decade if u have your storage technique pinned down.

if yer talkin rez ibl, maybe selfing is the best bet. but selfing is a last resort when it comes to true inbred lines. only self if there are no males.

sure, you can try it, or even do both, but, selfing isnt the answer, since the question is a loaded one to begin with.*

*we need to know what you mean by 'ibl' :rolleyes: unfortunately...

cya

neongreen

Veteran
Well I had some ideas (and questions) on this very subject, but no one even bothered to comment when I posted them, so I'm not going to waste my time going through that again, but if you want to search you'll probably find my post...

Chimera

Genetic Resource Management
Veteran
The problem with %99.99 of today's supposed IBLs is that they were not created with care or thought to future development/ refinement within the line. Let's be honest - Most IBL's are seed hack jobs created by posers.