What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Hempy Bucket Basic Questions

Tony Aroma

Let's Go - Two Smokes!
Veteran
I've been reading a lot on Hempy buckets, mostly on other forums, but I was hoping someone here might be able to answer a couple of simple questions. I have been growing for many years in soil but know next to nothing about hydro. So I hope these questions aren't too stupid.

I currently use organic soil with various amendments and add liquid Metanaturals veg and bloom nutrients to my water. But with a Hempy bucket, or any hydro, there are no nutrients in the medium so what's in the water is all the plants get. This makes me a bit uneasy, since in soil in addition to what I add, there are all kinds of other organic materials that I would guess provide various micronutrients. So my question is, can the plants survive and thrive on something like Metanaturals alone (with molasses for Ca & Mg)? Can you, or should you, add stuff like blood and bone meal or epsom salts to the perlite/vermiculite medium? Would a different organic solution be better?

Also, I grow from seed so I'm wondering about getting seedlings started before moving them to a bucket. I read somewhere about someone making a mini Hempy bucket out of a plastic cup and using that to start seeds. I've also read that some start in soil then rinse the roots before putting the seedlings into the buckets. What's the best (easiest, cheapest) way to start seeds for growing in a Hempy bucket?

Last edited:
Hey Tony,

If you are an experienced soil grower, let me show you my take on the hempy bucket. It has worked well for me in my outdoor grows.