What's new

The Barrel

Graehstone

Hello there kindred spirits, my name is Graehstone on the net and I am a disabled Vet that lives in the SoCal area and I suffer from Degenerative Disc disease, Scheuermanns disease, Scoliosis, Migraines … I have been a MMJ Patient for some time and due to living in a single income household it is difficult to be able to afford the Meds needed to be able to go through the day as a Man and not an Invalid hunchback.
The Narcotics I am on just make certain things worse … but I am sure most of you already know the stories that go along with sentences that start like that.
I can very easily imagine many other folks being in the same boat that I found myself in as far as affordability or even availability of Meds goes and that being that there were none or if so waaaay out of my price range.
So a very intelligent dear friend of mine came up with a (at least I think it is) brilliant idea on how I might be able to fix my problem.
Ideally I would love for someone to rent us, for very long term, a little house where the wife and I can live happily ever after and grow my own meds and veggies and … you know the little Cottage house from fairy tales … sigh, lol, but seeing as how we live in a two bedroom apartment that kind of puts a little damper on things.
This “closet” growing was something new to me but I was soon to be amazed.
It’s not really in a closet but rather a 50 gallon barrel that was painted white on the inside with a few strategically placed holes for hardware and ventilation, a false bottom to hold the water reservoir, and that is a very simplified version of what I got.
The entire thing sits inside the cardboard box that the Fridge came in and is in one corner of my bedroom.
There is also (just in case) a smoke detector and two timers, one for the lights and one for the watering system.
The temperature inside the barrel has never exceeded 26 degrees Celsius even on very hot days.