What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Am I going in the right direction? or no (BREEDING)

Closet Funk

CeRtIfIeD OrGaNiC!
Veteran
I've been reading the book Marijuana Botany. I'm interested in learning ways to make some crosses and keep consistent viable seedstock so I can have these strains for life. I'm pretty new to learning Breeding so anything that I write down that is wrong correct me. Here is my understanding so far.

1.Cross two strains to make a hybrid (ex. Blueberry x Cali Orange)
a. this will result in F1 seeds

2.Grow out F1 seeds
a. Choose parents
b. Keep clone of choosen female and pollen from choosen male

3.Pollinate a portion of a female clone with choosen pollen
a. This will result in F2 seeds

4.Grow out F2 seeds
a. Choose desired male for pollen

5.Pollinate a clone from the original mother or F1 generation
a. This will result in the Bx1 seeds (first generation backcross)

Is this right so far? or am I completely wrong?

suzycremecheese

Sure your terminology seems fine. The question will be is that plan of attack going to get you closer to your goal. Only you will know that as you select each generation.

The only suggestions I would make would be using multiple males and females instead of just one of each and grow out as many seeds as you comfortably can. For male selection be careful. Only eliminate those that show potentially dangerous characteristics for example, reduced vigor or genetic hermaphrodism. Selecting flower related and quantitative characters in males may be a useless excercise.

Have fun.

WeedMafia