What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

Simple 400W Ebb and Flow (waiting for clones)

420.se

Ok, this is my current flowering setup ready for its first run. I have some experience with soil grows but this is my first hydroponic setup. :joint:
The current plant in the picture is an unknown three year old seed growing in soil.

400W HPS in cooltube (edit: have recieved my CMH bulb and is going to use it instead, with or without cooltube is yet to decide.)
70 liter res
65x50cm DIY flood table 14cm deep, flooding to 8cm
1000L/h pump connected with a quick release for easy drain/nute mix
40 liters of clay pellets
Analog timer set to 15 minutes every 3 hours

Ventilation is taken care of using two inline fans, one for cooling and exhaust and a smaller one for drawing cold air from outside. Both fans ducted outdoors. Negative pressure in the room keeping the soon to be smell in. Carbon filter will be added if smell becomes an issue.

This was some dirty pellets, this filth is from only ~15 liters of pellets.
Did rinse it well before adding it to the flood table.

The system seems to be working great so far, filling of the table does take under a minute and it drains ok, just leaving a few millimeters of standing water.

Im going to start off with my HESI soil nutes, using only the TNT (grow nutes) vegging for some time, then switching to 12/12 and Bloom nutes. By this time i probably would have got some hydro ferts, if not and the vegging is not a complete failure i might use the soil Bloom complex and Phosphorus Plus i already got.