What's new

Lucas Formula + Biofilter. Safe?

Do these bio-bag filters fuck with ppm/ec levels in DWC?

http://www.petsmart.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2753028

I'm very new to Lucas Formula and when i initially made my 15 gal, 0-5-10 mixture, the water was quite red from the micro nutes. Now it looks like the pigment pigment is totally gone. Possibly due to my plant eating nutes? not 100% sure where my ppm/ec is right now because my meter busted and a new one is in the mail.

FreezerBoy

Was blind but now IC Puckbunny in Training
Veteran
Probably. The description is hardly descriptive but, if it's a standard fish tank filter then removing chemicals from the water is it's function. Why are you using one?

At 0-5-10, at worst, you may be over-feeding a bit. I'd worry more about pH.

understandable. I dont actually have a working PPM meter yet, but i will in 2 days. Nonetheless, I was using the standard fish tank filter just to try to lengthen the life of my pumps/airstones/chiller. I thought that i read somewhere that they dont fuck with EC levels, and only capture bacteria. essentially its just a charcoal filter. I'm prob gonna take it out for now and see how things shape up, unless anyone has had success with dwc+fishtank filters.

my pH is at 5.6-5.8, which has always worked for me in the past

FreezerBoy

Veteran
Airstones are cheap. Air pumps would be unaffected. Never used a chiller but GH is pretty clean stuff. I still use the powerhead that ran my E&F for 14 years.

true dat.. though I'm not at all worried about the nutes damaging my gear.. i was mainly talking about all the organisms/protein buildup that gets in my chiller and hoses... and just in general i've noticed my tubs get pretty gunky. last time i grew, the gunk dried up inside the chiller, died, then when i flipped it on again.. tons of papery crusty boogers came out into the water.