What's new
  • Happy Birthday ICMag! Been 20 years since Gypsy Nirvana created the forum! We are celebrating with a 4/20 Giveaway and by launching a new Patreon tier called "420club". You can read more here.
  • Important notice: ICMag's T.O.U. has been updated. Please review it here. For your convenience, it is also available in the main forum menu, under 'Quick Links"!

CMH or HPS during flowering

K

kronicundrum

Hello all.

I have been growing with CMH for the last 2 years, and all has been great. I am averaging 550-650 grams with a 800w CMH setup (soil). But as I am finishing my 4th batch I am noticing it took an extra 3 weeks to flower, and I am getting about 80% as much weed as my first run. So my bulb is loosing power, and it time for a new one.

So my question to you fellow ICmager's is which light is better for flower, HPS or CMH?

I know that CMH runs cooler, has a better spectrum, and is way better for veg, but what about flowering?

I have noticed more leafy bud with CMH, and after 18 hours of harvesting yesterday, I would prefer less leaf to trim off the bud. They are still very nice so I am not complaining, just alot of work.

37812final_3-thumb.JPG

And isnt HPS supposed to produce more packed colas? I am not complaining with CMH, I get nice weed, but I simply have never grown with HPS so have nothing to compare to.

What is the best flowering bulb I could get for a 400w HPS ballast? A link would be appreciated.

Also I just use fans right now, how much hotter is HPS? I dont have an active light cooling setup, and dont want one.

Thanks!!!

K

KMK0420

Hello all.

I have been growing with CMH for the last 2 years, and all has been great. I am averaging 550-650 grams with a 800w CMH setup (soil). But as I am finishing my 4th batch I am noticing it took an extra 3 weeks to flower, and I am getting about 80% as much weed as my first run. So my bulb is loosing power, and it time for a new one.