What's new

Thinking up a soil mix for my next grow, critisism welcome!

KIS

Hey bro, thanks for chiming in!

I use pretty raw coco, i dont think it needs more aeration. It got a portion of coconut fibers for aeration. I thought of adding rice hulls, but with current water holding i think its good.

I add quite some lime because the coco in unbuffered. Not sure about how much to add, and I want to add palm ash that raise the pH as well. I think I will have to run a soil pH test after mixing and adjust.
Any tip on amounts to start with?

Sourcing good compost is my next step. I tend to prefer them plant based, but it not common around here.
Currently it seems like I will go with vermicompost from cow poop + forest floor compost
Better to add gypsum than ag lime due to the neutral pH of the coco coir.

led05

Chasing The Present
I’ve been building soil for 35 years & im not too much older than that….

Overbuilding is a serious thing… like chasing one’s tail, both are circular

Build a proper physical medium (cec, permeability, clumpiness etc) then find a single feed trf, plenty of synthetic & organic options, everything gets mineralized one way or another

This is exactly the type of TRF one should be after imo - a one ton pallet of 40 bags will last years unless you run acreage

The owner of this place is a stand up fella, it’s pretty much a guide to organic farming - their products as a whole are a guide that is

PadawanWarrior

I haven't edited it recently but I may have done an edit a year or two ago on it to update some things. There's a good post on IG by Bryant (Soil Doctor) talking about why CEC is less relevant in soilless media.
Ya it must have been a year or 2 ago. And of course it's less relevant in soilless media using chemicals. The Op's talking about an organic grow not salts.

fonzee

Weed Cannasaur
Veteran
Better to add gypsum than ag lime due to the neutral pH of the coco coir.
My coco is unbuffered, so it should be acidic as far as I know.